Abbott Elementary is an American mockumentary sitcom television series created by Quinta Brunson for ABC.

It stars Brunson as a second grade teacher at Abbott Elementary, a fictional predominantly Black school in Philadelphia.

The ensemble cast includes Tyler James Williams, Janelle James, Lisa Ann Walter, Chris Perfetti, and Sheryl Lee Ralph.

The series premiered as a midseason entry in the 2021–22 television season on December 7, 2021, and was met with critical acclaim.

The first season consisted of 13 episodes. In March 2022, the series was renewed for a 22-episode second season, which is set to premiere on September 21, 2022.

A documentary crew is recording the lives of teachers working in underfunded schools.

Conditions at the school are harsh and most teachers do not last more than two years.

Second grade teacher Janine Teagues and history teacher Jacob Hill are two of three teachers in a group of twenty to make it past one year.

They work with experienced kindergarten teacher Barbara Howard, second grade teacher Melissa Schemmenti, tone-deaf school principal Ava Coleman